Hickory Golf Association

Happy Hollow hosts a happy USHO

October 19, 2020
Happy Hollow hosts a happy USHO Image

Happy Hollow Club put on a grand event with superb food, service, and, of course, a beautiful, well-maintained and challenging golf course.

Monday’s weather was cool and windy. At the 9 a.m. tee times, temperatures were around 45 degrees with 20 mph winds, so not for the timid golfer.  It warmed up to 60 by the end of day.  Tough scoring conditions. 

Jeff Olson from Seattle was undaunted by the weather. He led Day 1 with a brilliant 77, followed by four-time champ Jeremy Moe (Boca Raton, Fla.) and Jim Sweeney (Crescent Springs, Ky.) at 78.  

In the senior group Gary Youngberg of Ames, Iowa, led with another 77. Bert Coghill (Orland Park, Ill.) and Steve Simer (Madison, Wisc.) were right behind at 79 and 80.

Deal Hudson(Fairfax, Va.) shot 83 to lead the super seniors by five.

Monday night’s USHO Raffle and Silent Auction raised close to $10,000. So, a very big thank you to all our donors and sponsors. The highlight was a golf trip to Trump International donated by Dr. Gary Wiren, director of instruction at the course. The trip also includes a visit to Dr. Wiren’s world renowned golf collection.

Hungry golfers and guests enjoyed Monday nigh’s feast of a superb filet and scallops. This was followed by Dr. Wiren’s presentation, a wonderful show of his personal collection of books, papers, and clubs, and accompanied by anecdotal recollections of his past visits with VIPs.

Nervous leaders saw sunny skies with temps pushing 80 on Tuesday morning, along with gentle winds. Quite a change from the day before. We would see how that might encourage those close to the leaders to make a move.

In the end, Taylor Jones of Decatur, Ala., and the 2018 USHO champion, played steady golf, gradually pulling away from the field. Standing on the 16th tee he had a two-shot lead from the penultimate group.  His short birdie putt got him to just 1 over for the day. Closest competitors Moe and Rick Woeckener (Garrettsville, Ohio) each bogied the 16th, giving Jones a comfortable four-shot lead. Though 17 proved a bit dicey, Jones manages a miraculous up and down for par to all but seal the win.  

HHC Director of Golf, Mike Antonio, shot 76 to pull into a tie for second with Moe.

On the senior side, Simer shot a brilliant 77 to tie Youngberg at 157. It took three playoff holes to decide the outcome with Simer eking out the victory. Bert Coghill finished third at 159.

Super Senior Hudson shot 84 to claim victory with Mike Kaus (Cave Creek, Ariz.) in second and Jim Griffen (Neenah, Wisc.) in third after a scorecard playoff over Joe Bradshaw (Cave Creek, Ariz.).

It has proven difficult to attract a larger ladies field, but that is something we are working on. Meanwhile we are happy to report that Susan Marchese (Omaha, Neb.)  took first place gross with a 167 and that Pat Linson (Papillion, Neb.) took the first place net. Marchese, we might add, is an 18-time Nebraska Amateur Women’s champion and is the current city and state women’s hickory champion. Julie Hall (Norfolk, Neb.) and Jeanne Swenson (Kelley, Iowa) finished in a tie for third place gross. Rylee Stovall (Litchfield Park, Ariz.) was the second place net winner. At 13, Rylee was the youngest in the field, but this is her second USHO, the first being at Del Monte in 2017. Jeanne Swenson had a 154 finish, and Julie Hall at 158 finish in the net department. They were followed by Barbara Fulbright (Omaha, Neb.) with a 192 net.

The John Fischer Low Amateur Award was claimed by Rick Woeckener with 157.

2020 United States Hickory Open
Happy Hollow Club
Monday & Tuesday, Oct. 5-6, 2020

Low Amateur Honors
 – Richard Woeckener (157)

Gross Winners
1st Place – Taylor Jones (153)
2nd Place – Mike Antonio (157)
3rd Place – Jeremy Moe (157)

Net Winners
1st Place – Tim Cooley (147)
2nd Place – Richard Woeckener (147)
3rd Place – Griff Evans (149)

Gross Winners
1st Place – Steve Simer (157) * Won in a 3 hole playoff
2nd Place – Gary Youngberg (157)
3rd Place – Bert Coghill (159)

Net Winners
1st Place – John Williams (137)
2nd Place – Eric Becker (143)
3rd Place – Scott Rosheim (144)

Gross Winners
1st Place – Deal Hudson (167)
2nd Place – Michael Kaus (174)
3rd Place – Joe Bradshaw (183)

Net Winners
1st Place – Craig Healy (147)
2nd Place – Greg Smith (147)
3rd Place – James Griffen (151)

Gross Winner
1st Place – Susan Marchese (167)

Net Winner
1st Place – Pat Linson (148)